Required Wage Notices and Paystubs under New York Law

Since 2012, employers in New York have been required to give a notice to each employee, within 10 days of hire, stating the employee’s hourly rate of pay and overtime pay.   This notice must also be given each time the employee’s wage rate changes.  Failure to do so resulted in a fine of up to $2,500 per year from 2012.  In 2015, the law changed to a maximum fine of $5,000 per employee.

Your boss faces a similar fine for failing to provide a proper wage statement.

If your boss doesn’t hasn’t provided this notice, or a proper wage stub, you are entitled to recover damages.  You can collect damages six years from when you file your complaint, and your boss may be personally liable for these damages.  He may also be liable for additional damages.

Don’t let your boss keep money you earned.  Click on WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT IT? to recover money your boss has stolen from you.