Since 1938 the United States has required that workers receive a minimum hourly wage. Under Federal Law, employees must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Under New York State Law, effective January 1, 2018, the minimum wage is as follows:
For workers employed in New York City (NYC) with 11 or more employees: $13.00 per hour
For workers employed in NYC with 10 or fewer employees: $12.00 per hour
For workers employed in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties: $11.00 per hour
For workers employed in the remainder of New York State: $10.40 per hour.
If you are not being paid minimum wage, your boss is stealing from you. For instance, if you receive a flat rate of $600 per week and you work 60 hours or more, you are being paid below the minimum wage, and your boss is cheating you.
If your boss doesn’t pay minimum wage, you are entitled to recover double damages, as long as you can prove your boss cheated you intentionally. You can collect damages six years from when you filed your complaint, and your boss will likely be personally liable for these damages. He may also be liable for additional damages.
Don’t let your boss keep money you earned. Click on WHAT CAN I DO ABOUT IT? to recover money your boss has stolen from you.